OLD DEVONPORT . UK
www.olddevonport.uk
 

  Brian Moseley, Plymouth
Webpage created: February 04, 2016.
Webpage updated: August 06, 2017

To go to the Home Page          To go to the A-Z Contents Page

-

ANGLICAN CHURCH OF SAINT STEPHEN, THE FIRST MARTYR

The Anglican Church of Saint Stephen, the First Martyr, was situated in George Street, Devonport.  It no longer exists.

The remains of the Anglican Church of Saint Stephen, Devonport.
  Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery.

The ecclesiastical parish was formed on August 27th 1846 from the parish of Stoke Damerel.

The foundation stone was laid on the Octave of Ascension Day, 1852, by Mr E Saint Aubyn.  It was built at a cost of 7,000 to the designs of Mr J Piers Saint Aubyn.  The building was in stone and in the Middle Pointed style and at the time of its construction could accommodate a congregation of 764, all free and unappropriated.   It consisted of chancel, nave, aisles, and a central tower with lofty spire, 160 feet tall, containing one bell. 

Saint Stephen's was consecrated on September 21st 1858 although it required a second aisle to be erected before it could be said to be completed.

Saint Stephen's Vicarage was an architectural gem in itself.
Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery.

The Church, except the spire, was completely destroyed in the Second World War and services were held in the 1950s in the Anglican Church of Saint Aubyn, into which parish Saint Stephen's was amalgamated.

Saint Stephen's Church was demolished in 1958.